SKINNiE MiNNIE

Cooking, running, and blogging my ass off. Literally.

SKINNiE Chicken Parm

You know what I like the most about chicken parmesan? There isn’t a skinnie bitch on the planet who doesn’t love it. Seriously, no one doesn’t love this. I don’t care if you weigh 103 pounds, and you eat flaxseed and kale for a living. Your ass likes chicken parm.

I know every diet site on the planet has a healthy version of chicken parmesan.  I’m just starting out here, ok, cut me a break. That being said, I have tried healthy versions of chicken parmesan from more sites than I am comfortable admitting. And this one, by far, is my favorite.  The best part about chicken parmesan, for people like me, is the breaded part. Most healthy versions skimp on the breading, or insist that you dunk it in a bland egg white first. No no, my friends. This one is all about the bread crumbs.  If you are a heffer in sheep’s clothing like me, this one is for you.

So hear you have it, a skinnie version of chicken parmesan for those of us who are not too skinnie to be cool.

SKINNiE Chicken Parm

Ingredienti

1 all natural boneless, skinless chicken breast
1/3 cup panko bread crumbs (plain)
1/2 cup tomato sauce (I used Dellalo just to get it out of my fridge, I recommend an all natural kind or mashing up your own tomatoes for an even skinnier version)
1/4 cup mozzarella
2 tbsp parmesan

1.  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Watch the time on this baby, it varies by oven.

2.  Take 1/4 cup of the tomato sauce and spread it along the bottom of a small casserole dish.

3.  Season the chicken breast with salt and pepper, and place it in the casserole dish.  Cover it with the remainder of the tomato sauce.

Straight Up Mess

4.  Dump the panko bread crumbs on top of the chicken breast covered in tomato sauce.   Using a utensil, roll the chicken breast and bread crumbs around in the dish so that the bread crumbs mixed in with the sauce and so that it is covering the chicken breast.  One I had all of the bread crumbs immersed in sauce, I had to spoon some out of the bottom and layer it on top of the chicken breast. (This part is critical– this is why this is different than all the other recipes. )

5. Top with the mozzarella and parmesan. Sprinkle liberally with italian seasoning.  It’ll look like a straight up mess. Hang in there, I promise you.

6.  Bake for 20 minutes, or until you see the juices running clear mixed in with the tomato sauce.

7.  Eat and be thankful that you can be your own italian mother without the cellulite to go with it.

 

Bravissimo!

And don’t forget to check the nutrition info… not bad for something that made me feel like a heffer.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 24, 2012 by in Healthy Meals.

Daily Tracking and Posts

July 2012
M T W T F S S
     
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

