SKINNiE MiNNIE

Cooking, running, and blogging my ass off. Literally.

Steamed Shrimp and Slow Roasted Tomatoes

My dad turned 56 this year, and I agreed to host his birthday dinner at my house. Of course, this was on the first day that I told myself I’d begin the Scarsdale Medical Diet.  As much as I wanted to make homemade pasta sauce with sausage and garlic bread, I couldn’t bare to turn my back on myself on the first day. The diet prescribes shellfish or fish of any kind, vegetables, and a piece of wheat bread.  I turned this into Old Bay steamed shrimp, slow-roasted tomatoes, and organic whole grain brown rice. So maybe I cheated a little bit and had 1/2 cup of brown rice instead of the wheat bread. But regardless of the infidelity, my parents absolutely loved this meal, and it’s something we all felt great about.

Follow these instructions for shrimp and low roasted tomatoes, add some organic whole grain brown rice, and get the easiest gourmet, clean and healthy dinner you’ve ever made.

Steamed Shrimp with Homemade Cocktail Sauce

1 lb of raw shrimp, deveined but not peeled for better flavor
1/2 cup light beer (may substitute white vinegar)
1/2 cup of water
2 tbsp of Old Bay

1/4 cup of ketchup
1 tbsp creamy horseradish (add to taste)

Combine the beer, water, and old bay in a large pot. Bring it to a boil. As it begins to boil, add the shrimp and cover it, cooking for approximately 3-5 minutes. When the shrimp are pink, dump them in a strainer.  While they cool, combine the ketchup and horseradish, adding horseradish to taste.

Slow Roasted Tomatoes

Drizzle with olive oil and liberally add kosher salt and pepper.

6-8 medium size tomatoes
Olive oil
Salt and Pepper

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Slice the tomatoes in half lengthwise and place them on a cookie sheet lined with tin foil.  Drizzle olive oil over the tomatoes (not too much), and season liberally with salt and pepper.

Place them in the oven for 1.5-2 hours, or until the skin outside is crinkly but they are still moist.

I don’t even like tomatoes, but these are unreal. I sprinkled with a little dried basil at the end for added flavor. I’d make these with chicken or fish as well… they are a beautiful, healthy, and easy accompaniment to any protein.

Voila!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2012 by in Healthy Meals.

Daily Tracking and Posts

July 2012
M T W T F S S
     
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

